#### PROCEEDINGS OF THE BOARD MEETING OF THE LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD LTC Cleveland, Lakeshore Conference Room July 10, 2017

Board Present: Hildebrandt, Kluss, Lukas, Vasquez, Sheehan, Pohlman, Parrish, Wyatt, Rooney Board Absent:

Staff Present: Carlsen, Soodsma, Thillman, Gossen, Mirecki, Kotajarvi, Abts, Staszak, Sauer, Euclide, Zahn, O'Connell, Dodge

### **Call to Order**

The meeting of the Lakeshore Technical College District Board was called to order by Vice Chair John Lukas at 3:30 p.m. It was reported that this meeting had been publicized in accordance with requirements of the Wisconsin Open Meeting Law.

## **Oath of Office**

In accordance with Section 19.01 of the Wisconsin Statutes, a printed copy of the oath of office was given to Don Pohlman, Kim Rooney and John Wyatt who were sworn into office by Board Member John Lukas. The documents were signed and notarized.

# **Public Input**

No public input was provided.

## Connections

The Board discussed ways in which they connected with the College and the community. Joe Sheehan arrived at 3:36 pm.

### **Approval of Minutes**

IT WAS MOVED BY ROY KLUSS AND SECONDED BY DON POHLMAN TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FOR THE JUNE 21, 2017 BOARD MEETING AS PRESENTED. Motion unanimously carried.

# Linking and Learning

Each year the college submits its Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR) to the Government Finance Officers Association of the United States and Canada (GFOA) for review and grading by its award committee. The college's 2016 annual report was awarded the Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting. An Award of Financial Reporting Achievement was presented to Molly O'Connell.

### **Organizational Business**

John Lukas declared the meeting open for nominations for Board Officer positions.

IT WAS MOVED BY DON POHLMAN AND SECONDED BY LOIS VASQUEZ TO NOMINATE JOHN LUKAS FOR LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE BOARD CHAIR FOR 2017-18. No other nominations where provided, nominations closed. IT WAS MOVED BY ROY KLUSS AND SECONDED BY JIM PARRISH TO ELECT JOHN LUKAS FOR DISTRICT BOARD CHAIR FOR 2017-18. Motion unanimously carried. IT WAS MOVED BY JOE SHEEHAN AND SECONDED BY LOIS VASQUEZ TO NOMINATE ROY KLUSS FOR LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE BOARD VICE-CHAIR FOR 2017-18.

No other nominations where provided, nominations closed.

IT WAS MOVED BY JIM PARRISH AND SECONDED BY JOHN WYATT TO ELECT ROY KLUSS FOR DISTRICT BOARD VICE-CHAIR FOR 2017-18. Motion unanimously carried.

IT WAS MOVED BY DON POHLMAN AND SECONDED BY ROY KLUSS TO NOMINATE LOIS VASQUEZ FOR LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE BOARD SECRETARY/TREASURER FOR 2017-18.

No other nominations where provided, nominations closed.

IT WAS MOVED BY ROY KLUSS AND SECONDED BY DON POHLMAN TO ELECT LOIS VASQUEZ FOR DISTRICT BOARD SECRETARY/TREASURER FOR 2017-18. Motion unanimously carried.

A discussion was held regarding publication of legal notices and minutes and the associated costs. IT WAS MOVED BY VICKY HILDEBRANDT AND SECONDED BY LOIS VASQUEZ TO DESIGNATE THE HERALD TIMES REPORTER AS THE OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER FOR 2017-18. Motion unanimously carried.

IT WAS MOVED BY JIM PARRISH AND SECONDED BY KIM ROONEY TO APPROVE THAT THE LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD PURCHASE NEW SIGNATURE PLATES FOR BOARD OFFICERS AS NECESSARY AND CONTINUE USE OF CURRENT PLATES UNTIL THE NEW PLATES ARRIVE. Motion unanimously carried.

## **Board Representation**

Tax Incremental Financing Assignments		
City/Town/Village	Board Member	
Belgium	Jim Parrish, John Lukas	
Cascade	Jim Parrish, John Lukas	
Cleveland	Vicky Hildebrandt, John Lukas	
Howards Grove	Roy Kluss, Don Pohlman	
Kellnersville	Lois Vasquez, John Lukas	
Kiel, Elkhart Lake	Vicky Hildebrandt, John Wyatt	
Manitowoc, Two Rivers	Don Pohlman, John Lukas	
Mishicot	Kim Rooney, John Lukas	
Plymouth	John Wyatt, Vicky Hildebrandt	
Oostburg	Jim Parrish, Don Pohlman	
Random Lake	Jim Parrish, Joe Sheehan	
St. Nazianz, Valders	Lois Vasquez, Kim Rooney	
Sheboygan, Sheboygan Falls	Jim Parrish, Roy Kluss, Joe Sheehan	
Whitelaw	Lois Vasquez, John Lukas	

The following assignments were made to represent Lakeshore Technical College at tax incremental financing joint finance review board meeting(s) for 2017-18.

The following assignments were made to represent LTC on the Wisconsin Technical College District Boards Association standing committees for 2017-18.

WTC District Boards Association Standing Committee Assignments		
Delegate to the Board of Directors	John Lukas, Roy Kluss	
External Partnerships Committee	Jim Parrish, Vicky Hildebrandt, Don Pohlman	
Internal Best Practices Committee	Jim Parrish, Kim Rooney, Lois Vasquez, John Lukas	
Bylaws, Policies and Procedures Committee	John Wyatt, Lois Vasquez	
Awards Committee	Roy Kluss	

The following assignments were made to contact district legislators as needed in 2017-18.

Legislative Contacts		
Sen. Devin LeMahieu	Roy Kluss, Jim Parrish, Joe Sheehan, Don Pohlman	
Rep. Paul Tittl	Kim Rooney, Lois Vasquez, John Lukas	
Rep. Terry Katsma	John Wyatt, Don Pohlman, Joe Sheehan	
Rep. Tyler Vorpagel	Roy Kluss, Vicky Hildebrandt, Don Pohlman	
Sen Frank Lasee	John Wyatt, John Lukas	
Rep. Andre Jacque	Kim Rooney, Lois Vasquez, John Lukas	
Rep. Jesse Kremer	Vicky Hildebrandt	

## **Board Policy Review Schedule**

Board members signed up to review board policies as outlined on the Board Policy Review Schedule.

#### Information/Discussion

Dr. Carlsen reported on his recent activities and gave an operational report.

The District Boards Association future meetings and activities were discussed.

#### **Other Business**

Board members identified items to be included on future board meeting agendas. Agenda items for the August 16, 2017 Board meeting were discussed.

### Adjourn

IT WAS MOVED BY JIM PARRISH AND SECONDED BY ROY KLUSS TO ADJOURN. The motion was unanimously carried and the meeting was adjourned at 4:46 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Lois Vasquez Secretary/Treasurer